About NDD

Our Mission

The Newark Downtown District (NDD), Newark’s special improvement district (SID) of the central business area, is a privately funded 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, dedicated to enhancing cleanliness, safety, and beautification in Downtown Newark, while preserving and enriching culture, commerce, and community.

NDD works hard to enrich the quality of life for those who live, labor, and leisure in Newark by providing supplemental cleaning and quality of life services, as well as physical improvements, marketing, and event programs. These efforts make downtown Newark attractive to residents, businesses, students, tourists, and visitors.

The NDD is funded through a special assessment on district commercial and residential properties, and is overseen by a Board of Trustees consisting of business and property owners within the District, representatives of non-profit organizations, as well as municipal officials and staff.

Group photo of NDD
Downtown Newakr skyline

Staff & Board

Anthony McMillan

Chief Executive Officer

More Less  About Me

anthony@downtownnewark.com

Susan McKay

Director of Operations

More Less  About Me

susan@downtownnewark.com

Mbacke Faye

Senior Urban Planner

More Less  About Me

mbacke@downtownnewark.com

Robert Belzer

Real Estate Analyst

More Less  About Me

robertb@downtownnewark.com

Melissa Henry

Marketing and Communications Manager

More Less  About Me

melissa@downtownnewark.com

Peggie Cheris

Executive Assistant & Office Manager

More Less  About Me

peggie@downtownnewark.com

Zuri Walker

Administrative Assistant

More Less  About Me

zuri@downtownnewark.com

Peter Chapman

Marketing Associate

More Less  About Me

peter@downtownnewark.com

Jessica Quintanilla

Operations Manager

More Less  About Me

jessica@downtownnewark.com

Angel Rodriguez

Assistant Operations Manager

More Less  About Me

angel@downtownnewark.com

Allison Gordon

Operations Administrative Assistant

More Less  About Me

allison@downtownnewark.com

2024 Board of Trustees

*Denotes Executive Committee Member

Cristina Cruz*

Chair, Prudential Insurance Co.

Richard Dunn*

Vice-Chair, Paramount Assets

Michael Bright*

Secretary/Treasurer, Newark YMCA

Sam Chapin*

L & M Development Partners

Roseann Smith*

Onyx Equities, LLC

Joseph Dabbah

Emerita Urban Renewal, LLC

Kyleesha Wingfield-Hill

City of Newark

Nicole Swan-Bennett

PSE&G

Lynette Lashawn

Off the Hanger

Tony Gibbons

Crawford Street Partners

Dawn Spango

NJ Transit

Paul Pereira

Small Business Owner

Amber Randolph 

Rutgers-Newark

Mike Stephani 

Panasonic Corporation

Darryl Walker 

Newark Museum of Art

Kimberly Holmes, Esq. 

NJ Dept. of Community Affairs

Honorable Council President LaMonica McIver

City of Newark

PARTNERSHIPS

The NDD is proud to partner with the following Newark and New Jersey organizations.

Become a Partner

At Newark Downtown District, we’re always looking to expand our vibrant network of partners.

Whether you’re a local business, an entrepreneur, or a community organization, we believe that together, we can create remarkable experiences and drive our community forward. Partnering with us means more visibility, more networking opportunities, and a shared commitment to the growth and success of our community. Interested in becoming a partner? Reach out to us and let’s explore how we can collaborate and make a lasting impact. Join us in shaping the future of Downtown Newark!

Contact Us