The Newark Downtown District (NDD) Committees provide organized, focused means for members to achieve goals and address issues. They make full use of Board members’ expertise, time, and commitment, and ensure diversity of opinions on the board. The NDD Committees meet to discuss issues and then make recommendations to the full Board.

Currently, the NDD has the following committees:

  • NDD Marketing Committee
  • NDD Nominating/Compliance Committee
  • NDD Security Task Force Committee
  • NDD Strategic Planning Committee
  • NDD Government Relations Committee
  • NDD Capital/Finance Committee

As explained in the NDD Bylaws, members of the business community—as well as any others concerned about the economic advancement of the District (including residents of the District)—are encouraged to participate in all NDD Committees. While certain Committees, such as the Executive Committee and Nominating/Compliance Committee, are expressly reserved for NDD Board Members and Consultants, Committees are open to downtown Stakeholders. Anyone interested in becoming an NDD Board member is encouraged to first become an active member of an NDD Committee.

Interested in becoming an NDD Board or Committee Member? Contact Anthony McMillan using the contact form here.

Newark Downtown District Committees 2018

NDD Marketing Committee

  • Jeff Scott, Chairman (NJ Devils)
  • Sarah Jones* (Horizon Blue Cross)
  • Jeremy Johnson (Newark Arts Council)
  • Tamara Campbell (BurgerWalla / Newark Pulse)
  • Stephen Priolo (NJTV)
  • Andaiye Tayor (Brick City Live)
  • Peter Engot (Rutgers)
  • Representative (Newark Venture Partners)
  • Representative (Panasonic)
  • Denise Collins (Whole Foods)
  • Aisha Glover (NCEDC)
  • Chiagorom Osu (Lotus Equity Group)
  • Marketing Department (NDD)

NDD Nominating/Compliance Committee

  • James Rhatican, Chairman* (Hartz Mountain)
  • Regina Tokar, Chairwoman* (Panasonic)
  • Francis Kirk, Esq. (Tesser & Cohen)
  • Michael Bright* (Newark YMCA)
  • Anthony McMillan (NDD)
  • Frank Kirk, Esq. (Tesser & Cohen)

NDD Strategic Planning Committee

  • Regina Tokar, Chairwoman* (Panasonic)
  • Kevin Collins* (Lotus Equity Group)
  • Geoff Campbell* (Nightingale Group)
  • Michael Bright* (Newark YMCA)
  • Gabriel Lopez* (J&L Companies)
  • Anthony Borelli* (Edison Properties)
  • Monique Jones (Audible)
  • Jeffrey Thomas* (Prudential)
  • Tom Banker (Consultant)
  • Anthony McMillan (NDD)

NDD Capital/Finance Committee

  • Kevin Collins, Chairman* (Lotus Equity Group)
  • Michael Bright* (Newark YMCA)
  • Darla Stachecki* (Cogswell Realty)
  • Anthony McMillan (NDD)

NDD Government Relations Committee

  • Kevin Collins, Chairman* (Lotus Equity Group)
  • Regina Tokar* (Panasonic)
  • Walter Bryant (City of Newark)
  • Michael Greene (City of Newark)
  • Anthony McMillan (NDD)

NDD Security Task Force Committee**

  • Larry Barnes, Chairman* (Massey Insurance Company)
  • Michael James* (Downtown Property Owner)
  • The Honorable Council President Mildred Crump* (City of Newark Municipal Council)
  • Anthony McMillan (NDD)
  • Thomas Goletz (NDD)
  • Kimberly Heelan (NDD)
  • Zuri Hadi (NDD)

* Indicates NDD Board Member

** This Committee is made up of over 150 Downtown Security Professionals